Taste of Tahini – Falafel

Ingredients:
1 can chickpeas (425 g), drained
1 medium onion, finely chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
3 tbsp tahin
2 tbsp flour
50 gr fresh breadcrumbs
3/4 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp coriander
2 tbsp fresh parsley, finely chopped
pepper
oil for frying

Preparation:
Put the chickpeas with all of the ingredients into a food processor or mixer jar and grind until smooth and dry. You should be able to shape them easily into small discs. If the mixture is too moist or sticky at this stage, which it shouldn’t be, add more flour but don’t be liberal.

Chill the mixture in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Shape into small discs and deep fry on medium heat until dark brown on both sides. Make sure you regulate the flame, otherwise the outside will get burned or cooked too soon and the inside will be raw.

Try serving them in pitta bread with a combination of chopped spring onion, tomato, cucumber and lettuce, dressed with Tahini Citrus sauce (6 tbsp Tahin, 3 tbsp fresh orange juice, 6 tbsp lemon juice).

If you like to try some other delicious recipes with Tahin visit my team-bloggers in the Taste of Tahine Blog-Hop:
Chinoiseries at Always Cooking Up Something
Gnoe at Graasland
Uniflame at She Likes Bento

9 Reacties to “Taste of Tahini – Falafel”

  1. Beth F Says:

    Oh this is a great recipe — and very easy. I love falafel and make it every once in a while but I’m still experimenting with recipes. I’m going to give this one a try next time. I’m looking forward to your next themed blog hop.

  2. Christine Says:

    Hi! I found my way to your blog from Chinoiseries’ post.🙂

    I love falafel! Haven’t had it in a while and now I’m craving it! Yum!

  3. Carol @ Always Thyme to Cook Says:

    Saving your recipe to try, my family loves falafel, yours looks delicious!

  4. Gnoe Says:

    [whispers..] I have yet to try a falafel recipe (without egg) that won’t fail… [/stops whispering]
    I’m definitely going to try yours! How did you like it yourself? I had planned also to post a lemony tahini sauce that is great with falafel, but I see you already suggested something of the kind!🙂

    • JannyAn Says:

      well, I did enjoy it. After eating the falafel I added the pepper in the recipe description and….putting the mixture in the fridge. It really needs to be cold before you start making discs, balls or whatever. And I was thinking, how should it taste with some sesame seeds in it? Not really an ingredient for falafel but could be nice though.


Geef een reactie

