The Sunday Salon – My Week in Books

This week was really busy. I returned home last sunday from a trip through the south of Europe. Unfortunately there must have been a power failure or something because there was no electricity in the garage. Guess what, the freezer is in the garage. All food defrosted. The smell was awful, had to throw it all away. Three garbage bags full. And if that was not enough, it appeared the central heating system was out of order. Couldn’t be fixed until last friday.

That was the bad news. Now the good news. I found three books in the stack of mail on my dinner table (Click on the cover to find the book on Goodreads).

1. Liza Marklund – The Bomber. I participated in the Transworld Book Group Reading Challenge and this was my fourth and last pick. Because of my journey through Europe I wasn’t able to read it before the end of october as I was supposed to.

 

2. Amor Towles – Rules of Civility. I got this book from the Penguin Group for review.

 

 

3. Sophie Hannah – A Room Swept White (in dutch) in exchange for buzzing about the book on Twitter and Facebook and posting a blog.

 

I was the winner of one of three electronic editions of The Undertaker by William F. Brown at Book’d Out! Thanks again, Shellyrae and of course thank you, William Brown.

Sarah is organizing the 2012 eBook Challenge. I signed up for the dvd-level. That means I promised myself to read at least 50 eBooks next year. The highest level is Human Brain, 150 eBooks. Far to much for me, I don’t read that many books in a year. Almost 70 people joined this challenge, why don’t you try it to?

 

Finally, I entered a giveaway organized by Bookblogger. Who knows, maybe I’m a winner of Een Duivel met een Ziel by the dutch novelist Richard Osinga.

See you next week.

Geplaatst in Boeken, English. Tags: . 13 Comments »

13 Reacties to “The Sunday Salon – My Week in Books”

  1. Leeswammes Says:

    Finally you got to read The Bomber! I enjoyed it and I hope you will have a few good hours with it, too.

    What a hassle with the freezer and central heating!

  2. BookGoddess Says:

    Gosh… great home coming, not! Don’t know any of those titels. Enjoy the books!

  3. laurelrainsnow Says:

    Ooh, I love Sophie Hannah’s books and haven’t read that one!

    Sounds like a wonderful week.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. Karen @ Scobberlotch Says:

    Now that’s what I call a good attitude. Dismayed by the rotted food, but excited by new books!! Thanks for stopping by today.🙂

  5. Cassandra Says:

    I’m very jealous of your trip! I will definitely have to check out the ebook challenge. I lost my ereader recently, but I’ve been led to believe that I’ll be getting a new one for Christmas. I’d much rather use it then lug around books with me all the time. I like to keep my print books for when I can stay home for a while. Good luck with the challenge!

  6. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out Says:

    I hope you enjoy The Undertaker Janny!

  7. Alyce Says:

    New books are always neat, but a freezer full of rotten food – how awful!


Geef een reactie

