Oliva Joules and the Overactive Imagination- Helen Fielding

@Leeswammes was so kind to share this book with me. She was generous in her judgement and gave the book four stars. I really didn’t know what to expect since this is my first book from Helen Fielding. Of course, like so many others, I’ve seen the film version of Bridget Jones in the cinema. But that’s all.

The cover: Enter Olivia Joules, fearless, dazzling, independent beauty-journalist turned master-spy – a new heroine for the twenty-first century. In Miami for a face-cream launch, she spots Pierre Ferramo across a room. Dangerously charismatic and undeniably gorgeous, with impeccable taste, unimaginable wealth and exotic international homes, he seems almost too good to be true. But what if Ferramo is actually a major terrorist bent on destruction, hiding behind an smokescreen of fine wines, yachts and actresses slash models? Or is it all just a product of Olivia’s overactive imagination?

From the white heat of Miami tot the implants of LA, the glittering water of the Caribbean to the deserts of Arabia, Olivia pits herself against the forces of terror armed with a hatpin, razor-sharp wits and very special underwired bra.

I did enjoy reading the book. Sometimes funny, a bit absurd, chicklit and thriller at the same time. Although Olivia is a bit less hopeless then Bridget I couldn’t get the image of Bridget Jones out of my mind whilst reading the book. And yes, Olivia sure’s got an overactive imagination. I would have liked a bit more suspense and to my liking the story really is too unbelievable. That’s why mu judgement is less generous, two stars.

If you like I’ve got some reviews for you, the Guardian, the New York Times and the San Francisco Chronicle.

Eén reactie to “Oliva Joules and the Overactive Imagination- Helen Fielding”

  1. Leeswammes Says:

    Janny, I agree the story isn’t very believable, but I did enjoy it a lot. I think I was a little generous at the time, but I don’t do half-stars anymore, and this is a 3.5 star for me.🙂

    My review is here: http://leeswammes.wordpress.com/2011/01/14/olivia-joules-and-the-overactive-imagination-by-helen-fielding/

    Glad you liked the book and didn’t think it was a waste of time.


Geef een reactie

